Debt securities Antilles

On October 10, 2010 all outstanding loans [1] of the country of the Netherlands Antilles and the island territory of Curaçao were transferred to the Netherlands [2]. 

Loopbruggetje in het vroege ochtendlicht
Image: Outlook 2015
Quiet landscape on a bright morning

The transfer is regulated by law, and did not require the formulation of any supplementary act . The transfer concluded the debt relief programme which was started in 2009.

For creditors, the implications of this transfer are limited. Principal and interest payments on publicly issued loans will be undertaken by the Dutch State by means of the existing payment procedures and channels of the Central Bank for Curaçao and Sint Maarten (CBCS, the former BNA) and local commercial banks. The Dutch State will comply with all obligations related to privately placed loans also through the CBCS.

[1] Loans include bonds, treasury bills and publicly issued loans. There were no outstanding treasury bills.
[2] The island territory of Sint Maarten did not have the authority to issue its own debt securities prior to November 10, 2008.